Twenty years ago Notts County won the championship at the fourth tier of the Football League (now rebranded as League Two) smashing five records in the process. Now, the club’s Former Players’ Association is to honour those achievements at its annual Meadow Lane dinner on Saturday 12th May. All members of the 1997-98 playing squad are being invited, as is manager Sam Allardyce who masterminded the winning of the championship before the end of March - the earliest date a title had ever been secured in any division of the Football League

The precise date on which this piece football history was achieved was 28 March, 1998 when a goal by midfielder Mark Robson guaranteed all three points against Leyton Orient.

In the course of a phenomenal campaign Notts also created four other all-time records - ten consecutive league wins; seven consecutive away league wins; 15 away league wins in total; and only five defeats, the fewest in a season.

No player was an ever present but goalkeeper Darren Ward, top scorer Gary Jones (28 league goals) and midfield starlet Steve Finnan missed only two matches while midfielder Phil Robinson missed only six, centre half Gary Strodder only seven and skipper Ian Hendon and fellow-defenders Ian Baraclough and Dennis Pearce only eight. In all ten players made more than 30 outings in a remarkably settled side.

We will keep fans informed when tickets for this “must” event go on sale.

Featured Posts
Posts are coming soon
Stay tuned...
Recent Posts
Search By Tags